• Georgia Car Insurance Requirements

    Teen Drivers, DUIs, and SR-22 Requirements

    All insurance companies attempt to determine the risk of insuring people and their automobiles. Certain behavior or circumstances will cause a driver to be classified as a “high-risk” driver by most insurance providers. Once classified as high-risk, a driver can expect to pay considerably more for their auto insurance coverage. Depending on the insurance provider, the high-risk group includes any driver convicted of driving under the influence, teenage drivers and those made legally responsible for filing an SR-22. Even if a driver is classified as high-risk, there are alternatives to keeping insurance costs lower. If you are a high-risk category driver, you will find the information below to be helpful. You can still find cheap auto insurance in Georgia.

    GA Car Insurance Requirements for Teenage Drivers

    There is a popular movement that pushes each state to adopt Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) legislation. When passed in a state, these laws change how teenagers are licensed and allowed to drive. They accomplish this with restrictions on what age and under what conditions teens are licensed. The goal is to have these teen drivers gain experience and maturity with their driving skills. Georgia has yet to pass a comprehensive GDL law. Georgia’s current GDL laws for teenagers are:

    GDL Law Requirements: GEORGIA

    Learner’s permit 15 years
    Full licensure 18 years
    Mandatory Learner’s Permit Hold 1 Year and 1 day
    Supervised Practice Driving None
    Unsupervised Nighttime Driving Ban No
    Passenger Restrictions Yes; must be accompanied by a person at least 21 years old
    Cell Phone Use Yes, if younger than 18
    Texting Yes

    Georgia DUI Insurance

    Your first DUI in Georgia will expose you to the following penalties:

    • From 10 days up to 1 year imprisonment
    • From $300 up to $1000 fine
    • Up to 1 year suspension of license
    • Minimum of 40 hours community service
    • A $210 reinstatement fee to get license

    Georgia SR-22 Insurance

    An SR-22 is not required for every driver. Judges have discretion to require the filing of an SR-22 in situations where an accident has occurred or is driver is convicted of not having mandated insurance. Conviction of a DUI is the most common reason for requiring an SR-22. When a license is suspended or revoked, a driver has to file an SR-22 to have a license reinstated.

    Every driver has to deal with the issue of finding good, affordable insurance. It is necessary to meet the state minimums for coverage. Also, most drivers carry more than those minimums for the financial protection it provides. The process of finding and purchasing cheap auto insurance is sometimes frustrating and even intimidating. However, we have the answers at our comparison website Georgiacarinsurancequotes.org. We have a simple quote widget that you can fill in with just a few details. You will immediately see how much you can save on your insurance.

    By using the quote generator below, you can compare rates and start saving on cheap car insurance in Georgia today!

    For money-saving deals in major Georgia cities, please visit:

    Georgia Facts
    Georgia Gov Site